Xbox & PlayStation Go Head-To-Head in Same-Day Broadcast Showdown

By
Thomas Bardwell @TomBWrites
September 23, 2019

Fresh off Sony announcing last week that it was reviving its all-things-PlayStation State of Play with a showcase scheduled for tomorrow, Microsoft revealed today an Inside Xbox broadcast for the very same day, albeit in a slightly later time slot at 5:00 pm EST.

It’s gearing up to be quite the head-to-head same-day broadcast showdown.

State of Play Overshadows Xbox Inside Lineup

PlayStation is expected to knuckle down on a home run pre-release Death Stranding surge, possibly a The Last of Us Part II release date, and, fingers crossed, a sliver of Ghost of Tsushima news alongside bite-size game reveals. Sadly, Sony has explicitly said not to expect any next-generation console details.

Microsoft, on the other hand, is banking on ‘huge updates’ for its anticipated cloud streaming Project xCloud service alongside Xbox Game Pass tidbits, news about its X019 event lineup, and a focus on Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon Breakpoint set for release on Oct. 4.

Source: Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon Breakpoint/Ubisoft

Sony Wins Again

In what has become a familiar refrain during this console generation, PlayStation’s spread appears far more titillating than Microsoft’s comparatively lackluster lineup, and this before we’ve even left the starting blocks.

The saving grace for Xbox may be fresh news about Project xCloud and anticipated public tests slated for next month. Alternatively, Microsoft may be holding back in preparation for some big reveals at the X019 event in London scheduled for mid-November.

Alongside the State of Play broadcast, Sony and developer Naughty Dog are hosting a media event for the Last of Us Part II, more or less guaranteeing that PlayStation will dominate tomorrow’s news headlines.

State of Play kicks off at 1:00 pm PT / 4:00 pm EST tomorrow over on PlayStation’s Twitch, YouTube, and Facebook channels.

Inside Xbox starts at 2:00 pm PT / 5:00 pm EST on Microsoft’s Xbox Mixer channel.

This article was edited by Samburaj Das.

Show comments