Home / Gaming News & Opinions / How The Coalition’s Gears of War 5 Escalation Mode Differs from Fortnite

How The Coalition’s Gears of War 5 Escalation Mode Differs from Fortnite

Last Updated September 23, 2020 12:49 PM
Luke Luby
Last Updated September 23, 2020 12:49 PM

With Gears of War 5 being several months from release, developer The Coalition has started unveiling new features of the game. Fans of the franchise’s multiplayer game are set to get a kick out of Gears 5’s new Escalation mode, which the developer notes is the “most intense competitive mode to date.”

A blog post  and video package highlight features of the upcoming title’s PvP gameplay. Escalation is a round-based elimination where players battle for control of three objectives across the map; once all points are captured, or one team is eliminated, the round ends.

‘Most Intense Multiplayer to Date’

In contrast to Fortnite and other player-vs.-player (PvP) games, Gears of War 5’s Escalation multiplayer has a few unique features to ramp up the intensity. One example is every kill matters in the mode, with players being limited to five lives per round; die more than this, and you’re removed from the game until it’s finished. While Fortnite and others will replenish these after the round is completed, The Coalition has taken a different approach – only one life is added per round, up to a maximum of five.

This adds a more strategic approach to the game, as players are encouraged to take down those with a low respawn pool. Doing so removes them from the round, adding a much-needed advantage for one side. With respawning, the developer has added another twist to keep gamers on the edge of their seats; while the respawn time starts at 16 seconds, it’s reduced by one second per round. To add to the intensity, more weapons emerge in the map with each passing round, making the game deadlier the longer a player takes part.

Gears Of War 5 Technical Test

The new features will naturally place a large strain on The Coalition’s server, which is something that it’s planning for in advance. Two technical tests  have been announced for the game, with the first taking place between July 19 and July 21. This will focus on Gears of War 5’s multiplayer modes. Alongside Escalation is Arcade, another game type, and the familiar King of the Hill. Bootcamp is also available, which allows newer players to catch up with the game’s mechanics.

The technical test will be available for Xbox Game Pass subscribers as well as anybody who has pre-ordered the game. A second round takes place between July 26 and July 29. Gears of War 5 is set for release on Sept. 10.