Home / Archive / Enterprise Ethereum Alliance Announces Technical Board

Enterprise Ethereum Alliance Announces Technical Board

Last Updated March 4, 2021 4:56 PM
Anthony Mandelli
Last Updated March 4, 2021 4:56 PM

The Enterprise Ethereum Alliance, an organization comprised of the some of the most prominent names in blockchain, recently announced its inaugural Technical Steering Board. Focused on building out EtETH1.0, the protocol at the foundation of the Alliance’s work, the Technical Steering Board is made up of representatives from the member organizations.

Enter the Alliance

The Enterprise Ethereum Alliance is a working group devoted to advancing the adoption of the Ethereum Network blockchain, both publicly and within corporations. With members from multiple industries, the Alliance counts Microsoft, IBM, JP Morgan, and BNY Mellon among its ranks.

With the Ethereum Virtual Machine being one of the most widely used methods for building blockchain technology, the Enterprise Ethereum Alliance is one of the largest concentrated efforts coordinated around the implementation of distributed applications.

Members of the Board

The Technical Steering Board has three primary objectives. As per the announcement in the Enterprise Ethereum Alliance newsletter:

Configurable Consensus: the ability to swap consensus mechanisms depending on the type of environment one wants to create. Privacy: the ability to have only the desired counterparties (and regulator, if necessary) able to see a transaction. 
Rules Based Access Control: the ability to have role assignment, role authorization, and permission authorization.

Charged with carrying out those objectives, the full list of board members is as follows:

  • Banco Santander – John Whelan
  • BlockApps – Kieren Lubin-James
  • BNY Mellon – Alex Batlin (chair)
  • CME Group – Jonathan Morley
  • ConsenSys – Bob Summerwill
  • Cryptape – Jan Xie
  • IC3 – Andrew Miller
  • Intel – Sanjay Bakshi
  • J.P. Morgan – Tyrone Lobban
  • Microsoft – Marley Grey
  • Nuco – Jinius T

Editor’s Note: Article amended for clarity. A representative from the Ethereum Foundation reached out to CCN.com with the following comment. 

“Please note that neither Vitalik Buterin nor Jeff Wilcke are advisors to the EEA.”

Featured image from Shutterstock.